Tags

, , , , , ,

As I sat at my dining table, I peered down at my two dogs lying there warm in front of the fire. They seemed so complete.  I started to think about one of my dogs inparticularly.  Greenlee.  She is a beagle/chihuahua mix that I adopted when she was around eight years old. The poor little thing had obviously had a tumultuous life prior to that.  She arrived at a rural high kill shelter dirty, with ear mites, skinny, and terrified. 

Luckily for her a wonderful rescue  http://shelbycohumanesociety.com/index.php saved her.  It was 3 months later that I adopted her.

Greenlee the year I adopted her.

Greenlee the year I adopted her.

  I have had Greenlee for over four years now and as I watched her sleep, it made me reflect.  This dog had less than nothing for 8 years which is about half her life considering dog life spans.  She now has everything she needs:  high quality food, fresh water, shelter from the elements, and me, who loves this little one dearly. 

There is so much I can learn from this.  She never wants or asks for a new better shinier collar or the lastest fashion in food bowls.  She has all that she needs to be happy, her needs, nothing more. 

I’ve been on a mission for a minimalistic simple life for sometime now.  I can learn from Greenlee, she has mastered it!

gl1

Greenlee modeling her new sweater that Grandma bought her.  Gotta bend those minimalist rules for Grandma's!!

Greenlee modeling her new sweater that Grandma bought her. Gotta bend those minimalist rules for Grandma’s!!

